Little White Lies Second Draft

My long awaited first novel (at least by me), Little White Lies, has moved on to a second draft status. That is not to say that a complete first draft exists, but that I have ended the first draft at page 112 because I had trouble fleshing out the main character. She is a very complicated young lady and I thought the direction I was taking her felt unnatural. She was making choices that didn’t not fit her character. So, like many women do when they aren’t feeling great, Kylee is going to get a makeover.

This isn’t, however, a re-write. I would say that 80% percent of the material I have already written will make it into the second draft. I just decided that instead of wasting my time writing a complete first draft that I would only use 80% of, I should just start the second draft from the beginning and lose 20% of what I’ve written so far. I would rather lose 20% of 112 pages versus losing 20% of 400-500 pages.

The pessimist in me says that I’m starting from scratch, but the optimist says, ‘Hey, Richard, you’ve already got 90 pages done.’

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Editorial, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

