Don’t Call It a Comeback…

Well, just a little over six months has passed since I last posted on this blog and it’s now time to get serious about updating this on a little more regular basis.  I reacquired my domain name (I let it expire…oops) and I’m really excited about writing again.  What’s brought about this renaissance?  My return to the world of academia.
On Tuesday, I stepped back into a college classroom for the first time in five years.  That is unless, you count the week before when I mistakenly wandered into an empty classroom on campus (What do you mean class doesn’t start until the 19th?) and I don’t.  I feel reinvigorated by the opportunities that lay before me.  After my diagnosis with Adult ADD and the subsequent treatment with medication, I feel that I have a “tabula rasa”.

As of right now I have three leading contenders for areas of study in which I would be interested.  First, and probably the leader right now, is Broadcast Journalism.  The only thing holding me back from this field of study is the declining job opportunities that it presents.  Secondly, would be majoring in English or Creative Writing.  But, again how many English majors do you know that are actually still writing books?  My final choice of majors would be Entertainment Engineering and Design.  Yeah, I know… ♪ one of these things is not like the others, one of these just doesn’t belong ♪… but, I really think this would appeal both to my creative and logical sides.  It’s a blended major that combines theatrical and engineering studies.

No matter what I choose in the end, the journey begins now in English Composition I and Music Appreciation.  Hopefully, Comp will make this blog a little more interesting and regular.  I’m not quite sure what Music Appreciation will bring to this blog, but I’m sure I’ll find something.  Wish me luck!

P.S.  18 pounds down, a whole crapload to go!

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

