Special Birthday Wishes

I was just blessed to witness a sweet, family moment in the life of one of our guests.  For those of you who don’t know, I am the night auditor in a local hotel.  Our guests are mostly of the long-term variety; here to be at the beck and call of a certain company that shall remain nameless, but rhymes with Ball-Part.  One of these guests celebrated his birthday on St. Patrick’s Day, but his family was back home in Pennsylvania.  That didn’t stop his wife from celebrating with him.  She made plans with my manager earlier in the week to have flowers and a cake sent to the hotel in advance.  I was to set up the cake before midnight when his wife would call the guest and have him come down to the lobby.  The plan went off without a hitch.  The guest was so surprised, and they were both grateful to me for helping to make the moment happen,  but I should have been the one to thank them.  It was a really beautiful moment in that couples’ life and I was honored to take even a small part in such a tender display of affection.  So, Happy Birthday to you, sir, and thank for letting me be a part of your party.

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

