Greetings from the Great Pacific Northwest

Little Pink BallerinasI’m in Everett, Washington, just 30 minutes north of Seattle and guess what… it’s raining!  My wife and I are out here on vacation for nine days visiting  some friends of ours, and we are having a blast!  We just met two of the most adorable children (our friends’ kids).  They had been with their dad for our couple days out here, so this was the first chance we had to meet them.  When they saw us, it was like we were their long lost relatives from Arkansas and the hugs were dished out liberally.  It’s now really interesting to see our friends in their natural element; how their everyday lives ebb and flow.

The boy is turning nine tomorrow and we’re helping put together gift bags for the kids at the party tomorrow while the kids unpack all their stuff from their stay.  My wife and I sitting at the kitchen table, her tying baggies while I type away.  A red-headed, Pileated Woodpecker is out on the huge fir trees in the back (that is one big freakin’ ‘pecker!… that’s what she said).  Vacation has definitely kicked in and I’m actually able to succeed in my one goal for this time, to write.

Now, my blog is not exactly what I had in mind, but like I’ve said before in earlier blog posts, it does tend to have a cathartic release and seems to get the creative juices flowing again.  My fingers are starting to get that story writing feeling again, and after a long layoff that is exactly what they need.  I’ve really hit a slow point in my book writing.  After I realized that I was writing book four of the series and began to write book one, the process became labored.  I am having to re-create and re-think the series and frustrating does not begin to describe the situation.  I haven’t felt the inspiration for Little Pink Ballerinas that I had felt for Little White Lies until recently.  And I’m sure that a lot of that feeling came from the fact I was switching from a book that I was 140 pages into writing to a blank page, but it was something that had to be done.

I did feel a little bit of the passion return when I formatted my novel to work with my wife’s Nook.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with the Nook, it is Barnes and Noble’s e-reader.  I exported my novel to the epub format that the Nook uses, so my wife could preview my work.  She is my in-house editor and a vital part of my writing.  So, while formatting my novel for my editor, I decided that it needed cover art to display on the Nook to make it feel like a published novel.  After an hour or so on Photoshop, I came up with the artwork included in this blog post.  Seeing a cover with my name on it lit that fire all over again.  If that wasn’t enough for me, while we were sitting in the Tulsa Airport, I saw a man reading Michael Crichton’s Timeline (excellent book, read it if you get the chance), and I thought what an incredible feeling it would be to sitting there and having the person across the way reading my book.  That was it!  My soul is an inferno!  I will get at least three chapters done on my book this trip.

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Greetings from the Great Pacific Northwest

  1. Stephanie says:

    Thats totally awesome! I knew you had it in you!

Leave a Reply

