Stuffing Day Eve

Is that cornbread stuffing or a little piece of Heaven?

Tomorrow’s holiday usually goes by one of two names, Thanksgiving or Turkey Day.  For most of my life that is how I referred to it, too.  That was until I tasted the sweet piece of Heaven that is my father-in-law’s cornbread stuffing.  From that moment until the day I pass from this life, the fourth Thursday in November will be known as Stuffing Day.

Stuffing Day will always be about family for me , first and foremost, but that cornbread stuffing is a really close second ahead of all the football games on that day.  Which is saying a lot because my Dallas Cowboys are always featured on Stuffing Day.

A few years ago, my father-in-law passed on the recipe to my wife, so now not only do I get to have the stuffing of my desire at my in-laws gatherings, but when my mom asks what we want to bring I automatically say, “We’ll handle the stuffing!”  Add that to my grandma’s coconut cream pie, and it’s half of the perfect meal.  If grandma brings my chicken and dumplings, too, I might just die.

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuffing Day Eve

  1. Tony Conner says:

    I would really like the recipe to the stffing. My in-laws do not know how to make the kind of dressing that I grew up on and this looks like what my grandmother made.

Leave a Reply

