National Novel Writing Month

In news that confirms that they do indeed have a National month for every activity and cause on the planet, November was National Novel Writing Month.  NaNoWriMo, as it is commonly known in the literary world, is a competition to complete a 50,000 word novel (approximately 175 pages) between November 1st and November 30th at 11:59:59PM.  Last year about 165,000 writers participated in the event with around 30,000 of them completing the 50k goal.

I read about this event in the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette this morning and it inspired me.  I was already planning on spending the winter break from school really concentrating on making some strides on my novel, but I am now going to be a bit more regimented in my approach to this time with my book.  I’m not going to go the whole way with the 50,000 word goal that the wrimos try to achieve.  Writing at that pace will almost assure me that I’ll spend an equal amount of time in January cleaning up the big pile o’ crap I laid upon my screen.  Instead, I have chose to attempt a more modest, but still challenging goal of 30,000 words, or basically 1,000 words a day and an off day for Christmas.

I will attempt to update my progress as much as possible, but for me to knock out 30,000 words this month, then I’m not going to be able to devote much time to the blog.  I created the graphic below to keep you up to date in between blog posts for those of you who are interested.  I hope you all have a happy holiday season, and I hope mine is a productive one.  Seasons Greetings!

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

