Neither Rain, Nor Snow, Nor Splitting Headache

If you remember a few years back to a song by Baz Luhrmann entitled Everybody’s Free, in which he imparted the wisdom of his life experience to the Class of ’97, you may recall such sage advise as enjoy the power and beauty of your youth, do one thing each day that scares you, don’t worry about the future, and of course, the most important point of his diatribe, wear sunscreen.
Well, I have another to add to the list of advice based on my time upon this planet… Obey the instructions on your prescription medication bottles. The reason for this, I will dispense now.

20110802-044809.jpg
Obey the Label

As many of you who read my blog know, I was diagnosed a couple years back with Adult ADD for which I was placed on Adderall. It has worked well for me, and my wife and some of my former co-workers can attest to that fact. They can usually call me out on the days I have forgotten to take my meds. I had felt, however, that the Adderall was becoming less effective than it had been in the past.

So, at my next doctor’s appointment, I discussed this with him, and he suggested we try a new medication on the market for ADHD called Vyvanse. It is a time-released med with far less of the side effects that plague Adderall. I have to say I have been happy with Vyvanse. Happy, that is, until this morning.
Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not blaming the medication. This was my own stupidity. It clearly states on the bottle to take this medication with food… And it means business.

After a half an hour, I began to get a splitting headache, broke into sweats, my heart was racing, and I felt dizzy and nauseated. Realizing what I had done, I quickly fixed me some oatmeal, drank copious amounts of water, and lay down on our bed. After an hour nap, all I was left with was the splitting headache, to which I am laying down right now to get rid of. But, I did not want this to interrupt my commitment to this blog that I renewed just yesterday. So, I lay down my story, splitting headache, and all for your enjoyment.

But, if you remember only one thing from this post… trust me, obey the instructions.

 

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

