Fantasy Football Draft Day vs. Christmas

Editorial Note:  I posted this in my fantasy football league’s message board and it turned into an impromptu blog post.  So, I copied it to it’s proper place here.

This may be a little sacrilegious, but I believe I look forward to Draft Day more than I do Christmas now. I mean, the reasons I enjoy the Christmas holiday so much (other than celebrating our Savior’s birth) have been trumped by our Draft Day festivities. For example, getting together with family… well, I’d much rather hang out with you fellas than most of my family on any day, not just Christmas.

Tom Brady vs. Santa Claus... Who would you rather be married to, Gisele Bündchen or Mrs. Claus?

Then, there is the food… I don’t know about the rest of you, but last year’s feast was maybe the most delicious meal I had all year (excluding the week I went on our cruise to the Bahamas and Key West, but they are culinary masters).  And I’m almost 100% certain that this year’s smorgasbord will top last year’s.  I know the Howk boys stepped up their game this year!

After the food during our Christmas time rituals, it’s time for presents.  At the age of 35, I don’t really look forward to the present part anymore. Anything I want, I go out and buy it.  Of course, this makes me a pain in the ass to buy presents for, but that’s not my problem.  But, my friends know how to give presents. Take Rob for example, he gave me a big box of Jermichael Finley for Draft Day!  That’s a present that should keep on giving for the next decade! How generous is he!?!

And finally, after the presents have been opened, on Christmas we all sit around the living room, trying not to fall asleep because of the copious amounts of turkey we just inhaled, we watch some NBA game that NBC has put together usually involving the Lakers, Celtics, Spurs, or now, the Heat.  This is where Draft Day has it all over Christmas because Draft Day is all about FOOTBALL!  Start to finish, it’s FOOTBALL, Baby!

So, now I can only count the hours until 7:00PM tonight.  Anxiously, I sit as the minutes move as slowly as a sloth.  But, at least it’s good to have that feeling again.  You know what I’m talking about; like a kid at Christmas.

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fantasy Football Draft Day vs. Christmas

  1. Matt Anello says:

    Haha, great post. I 100% agree. X-Mas is overrated after the age of about 13. Nothing better than hanging out with friends on draft day, plowing through a 6-foot hero, and then hearing the silence of my friends after you steal a pick late in the draft. Draft day > Xmas
    I would really appreciate some feedback on my blog @ http://manello33.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

