Rededication

Today was our quarterly Ozarks Writers League conference in Branson, but I didn’t come away with the usual refreshed batteries that I normally do. I would come home ready to tackle my book again because I found a spark or figured out away to write that particularly tough passage in just the right way; a pleasant side-effect of spending all day talking and learning about the writing process. But, like I said, that was not the case today.

I think that might have been because my Muse was on a winter hiatus. She seems to be pissed that I returned to work. We’ve only managed to produce about a page of manuscript together since my return, and frankly, I’ll probably end up trashing it. I wouldn’t say I have lost the desire to write, I just haven’t found the time.

That brings me to what I did find at this conference… a rededication; a new commitment to the art of writing.  Now, some might say that this is semantics, but I beg to differ.  This time there was no euphoric reaction to what I encountered at the conference, but more an acceptance and understanding of who I am.  I am a writer.  And if I want to continue to be a writer then I have to do what writers do, which is write.  No excuses.  If it is as important to me as I feel it is then I have to make time for it.  If I have to give up other things, then that is what I have to do.  I have stories that I want to tell the world, and there is only one way to make that happen.

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

