Behind The Writing

If you follow my author page on Facebook (facebook.com/richardhowkauthor), then you might have seen a post this morning about my tough week of writing.  And if you don’t follow, please click on that link and ‘Like’ my page.  Anyway, you might consider this a VH1 Behind The Writing explanation of that post.  First of all, I must disclose that I obviously can’t go into too much detail about an ongoing book that I’m hoping one day you all will be purchasing, but I will try to let you have a glimpse into my writing world without divulging any spoilers.

The book I am talking about is Cedar Beach (of course, working title because I’m still working on it).  I posted a way-to-damned-early trailer for it on my YouTube channel (youtube.com/user/richardhowk) to give you an idea what it is all about.

So, there it is.  Colton is a guy is trying to put his life back together after he commits an atrocious crime. He rediscovers love while he tries to escape his past.  It will be considered a Romantic Thriller, so there will be some action intertwined with the love affair.  I am writing this in a character-driven style, which is to say I have no freakin’ clue how the thing is going to end yet.  I, along with my writing group and pre-readers, are still trying to figure that out.  My time to read during our writing group’s critique session is filled with “what if this…” and “what if that…”  One member even thinks Colton’s mom and his love interest are involved in a lesbian relationship. 🙂

This week, however, blew my mind (This is the part I can’t divulge, but trust me it’s good!), and now I am having to rethink the whole book.  The problem with character-driven writing is when you introduce a new idea you have to see how that is going to affect every character in the book.  That takes time.  How one character reacts to this new information could affect how another will react to it and so on and so on.  It’s a horrible chain reaction that can reverberate from cover to cover.

So, that’s where I find myself, trying to sort through the aftermath of exploding this brilliant idea right in the middle of my book.  It has sent me back to the drawing board.  My word count will not show the work I have done this week, but hopefully the finished product will.

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

