What Motivates You?

If you have read many of my previous blog posts before, you might already know that I am ADD positive. It is a blessing and a curse when it comes to writing. My mind can run through multiple scenarios for plot lines all at the same time, and easily come up with the answers to ‘what if’ questions. But, it is also responsible for the lack of a completed novel so far. It is a struggle I fight every time I sit down to write a passage.

Mock-up covers for Beautiful Secrets and Cedar Beach.

Mock-up covers for Beautiful Secrets and Cedar Beach.

By now, however, I have developed strategies to offset the effects of ADD. I have to be in a place with no distractions. I can not let myself get on the internet for even a second lest my attention be kidnapped by any number of time-wasting pages, games, apps, or the like. I am also more productive when I have music playing, preferably New Age or World Music. I have a station on my Pandora I have named The Muse for writing time.

It’s not that I don’t like to write. It’s quite the opposite. I love to write. But, as many of you know, the availability of free time in a normal adult life is scarce. If your job doesn’t have you 50 plus hours out of the week, then you are taking the kid to soccer practice or basketball practice, or completing tasks on your honey-do list, or cooking, cleaning, and you name it. It seems like during these times when I am busiest my writing is the first thing that gets pushed aside. If I am ever to make it in this business, I have to make it more of a priority.

Recently, I have tried to develop some additional means of motivating myself. I created two mock-up covers for books that I am working on and wrapped them on other books to envision the feeling on seeing that first book cover completed. They are sitting on our piano, and as I look over at them from my seat on the couch, they are compelling me to push on and complete the inside of the novel to match the outside. But, are there any other things out there that I can do to focus myself further?

I don’t usually make this blog that interactive. I normally just blab on about this and that; throwing my thoughts in to the oblivion that is the internet. But, this time I want to hear back from you, especially my fellow writers. What is it that you use to motivate you when you just can’t seem to stay focused on a task? I would love to hear your answers in the comments below.

About Richard Howk

Fiction author with my first novel, Pariah, available December 2nd.
This entry was posted in Lifestyles, Non-fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

